The Rev. Sarah Taylor Miller ’15 Wins 2021 John Hines Preaching Award

Date: March 10, 2022


Media Contact: Curtis Prather
Tel: (703) 461-1782

ALEXANDRIA, VA – Virginia Theological Seminary (VTS) celebrates the Rev. Sarah Taylor Miller ’15, who was named the 2021 recipient of the John Hines Preaching Award. The award is given annually to an outstanding entry where the prophetic voice is central within the sermon.

Named in honor of the 22nd presiding bishop of the Episcopal Church, the Rt. Rev. John Hines (VTS 1933), the award celebrates the ministry of preaching and its importance in our Church, recognizing outstanding sermons that are deeply grounded in scripture and focused on the seen and unseen needs of a worshipping community, the nation, and the world. 

“An extraordinary sermon bringing the Word to an extraordinary time,” said the Very Rev. Ian S. Markham, Ph.D., dean and president. “I am delighted that Sarah Taylor Miller is being honored by this award.” 

Miller’s sermon was preached at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Millers Tavern, VA on June 21, 2020, and the text is Matthew 10:24-39. Listen to the sermon here. 

Virginia Theological Seminary invites all preachers – bishops, priests, deacons, and laity of The Episcopal Church – to submit sermons for the 2022 Hines Award by the deadline of March 30, 2022. Open to ordained and lay preachers, submissions must be from the liturgical year of Advent 2020 through the last Sunday of Pentecost 2021. Submissions by audio file will be accepted this year. Video is not acceptable, only audio. Ideally, a submission will include both an audio file and text file, but for this year one or the other will be acceptable. 


Submissions should be sent here. Please visit or email for more information. 


Founded in 1823 as a beacon of hope in a country new and finding its way, Virginia Theological Seminary has led the way in forming leaders of the Episcopal Church, including the Most Rev. John E. Hines (VTS 1933, D.D. 1946), former presiding bishop of the Episcopal Church; the Rt. Rev. John T. Walker (VTS 1954, D.D. 1978), the first African-American bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington; and theologian, author and lay preacher Ms. Verna J. Dozier (VTS D.D. 1978). Serving the worldwide Anglican Communion, Virginia Theological Seminary educates approximately 25% of those being ordained who received residential theological education. Visit us online: 


Back to all