The Karl Barth Prize for 2022

Date: April 22, 2022

The Karl Barth Prize of the Union of Evangelical Churches in the EKD (Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland) has been awarded to an extraordinary array of exceptional scholars for over 36 years. Eberhard Jüngel (1986), Bruce McCormack (1998), George Hunsinger (2010), and Michael Beintker (2020) are all winners. So, I am proud and delighted to share the news that our very own the Rev. Dr. Katherine Sonderegger will travel to Worms on September 29 to receive the award for 2022.

Dr. Sonderegger’s engagement with the corpus of Karl Barth is significant. She wrote on Karl Barth’s doctrine on Israel (1992) and has written countless essays exploring different themes and aspects of Barthian theology. Interestingly, her Systematic Theology has treated Karl Barth as an invaluable interlocutor rather than the definitive guide. She has, in significant ways, pushed back on Karl Barth’s own solutions to key theological problems. So, this moment is, in many ways, quite remarkable.

I have really enjoyed teaching “Doctrine of God” with Dr. Sonderegger. Last Wednesday, I had the privilege of outlining the “Sonderegger Project.” It is a remarkable project – vast in its scope and insightful originality. It is exciting to see Dr. Sonderegger receive this high honor; her project deserves this recognition.

The Very Rev. Ian S. Markham, Ph.D.
Dean and President


Back to all